Recently, abortion increases rapidly and becomes a controversial topic. Some people suppose that abortion should be legal while others are against it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this cutting edge era, feticide has been rising at a faster pace than before and has become a debatable issue. It is believed by a few that it should be legalized, whereas others opine that it should not be legitimate. In my opinion, it should be legalized. However, this essay will explore both aspects of this discussion. To begin with, why it should not be legitimate, the first and foremost reason is that it encourages the incidents of female foeticide. There are certain regions in the world, where male domination still exists and woman is considered a burden, there are chances that cases of female foeticides will increase in such societies. For example, in Haryana state, a son is treated as superior to a daughter. As per the 2011 population census, the male-female ratio in Haryana was reported as 885 females per 1000 males. Making feticide legal has few cons. However, its pros are far more and will be discussed in the subsequent paragraph. On the other hand, I argue that abortion should be accepted by law because there can be numerous reasons where termination is required such as financial condition, age, rape or some disease. It will risk the lives of women because,in order to abort the foetus, they might take some other measures which are not safe. For instance, my own maid died last year due to unwanted pregnancy. She already had 4 children and pregnancy happened by mistake. She took some medicines to avoid this baby and lost her life. Therefore, I strongly believe that it should be legal, otherwise many women die because of this. To conclude, nowadays abortion has become a debate topic whether it should be legitimate or not. There are certain demerits of its legalization, however, the merits are far more. I strongly believe that should be allowed by law otherwise many women risk their lives in order to terminate it by unsafe methods. In fact, I recommend that it should be free for an underprivileged woman who can not afford to terminate an unwanted pregnancy.