Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

When it comes to transportations, governments find themselves in a dilemma where they have to prioritize the development of public or private infrastructure for transportation. These two, each has its own merits and demerits and therefore at certain situations might not be appliable or efficient and it is totally dependent on the density. To commence with, let's discuss dense cities where people have to spend a certain amount of time on the commute. For example, if one decides to use a car, since these cities are highly populated, they would have to spend approximately 2 hours depending on the distance each day in traffic. If we add up these times and multiply it by the total population, it would cost the community dearly. Therefore it would be reasonable to dedicate funds to public sources like railways to provide extremely fast and cheap transport for the majority of the society. However, if we were to invest it in the private end, it would have only caused more traffic, air pollution and noise in the city. Thus building roads would not be much efficient. On the other hand, in rural areas where there is a far fewer population, governments usually decide to develop roads. Because not only the costs of maintaining a railroad and trains are rather high, but also there are fewer people using it, it would only lead to more loss for the city. In contrast, roads would cost way less, and since these areas have less population, there wouldn't be much traffic. So not only it would be cheaper, but also we wouldn't get polluted and suffer from traffic jams as opposed to the cities. In other words, it would be reasonable to develop private transit infrastructure. To summarize, when it comes to dedicating funds for the development of transportation ends, in my opinion, it totally depends on the situation. If we are investing it in a dense city, then railways should be our primary target and if not, then we should focus on building more roads.