Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think it is essential to learn history. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The history of mankind is very long and twisted. In order to, preserve this long history, humans have developed huge libraries around the globe. While many spend their whole life research it, there is a group of people who ignores it and are termed as a waste of time. The two contradicting views are faces of the same coin. On the one side tend to learn from past experience in it while on the other hand, few ignore it, as it's the past and will be irrelevant in the present or the future. We will discuss both sides one after another. Firstly, history has some very valuable lessons for mankind that are essential for human beings. For example, the two world wars fought one after another caused huge damage to world nature, population, economics and culture. If the human forgot its cause, expansion or destruction, they will be tempted to cause the third one. Thus, the past has some great lessons for us to maintain peace and stability in the world. In contrast, a disaster could occur because of the influences of past reputations. For instance, the USA is called the most powerful nation due to its past wars and battles. But currently, it has lost its charm in the present due to few terrible decisions and following them will be like sliding down with them. Thus, the past is not essential for geopolitics which changes every second. In conclusion, while completely ignoring it will be a disaster but completely following could be suicidal. To preserve the future, we need to maintain an equilibrium between the two.