Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Cultivating good habits in children is a prime motive for most parents. There is a strong belief that upbringing kids with discipline and good manners can transform them to be independent and confident in handling life events. However, this perception may not be unique across the parents. Let me discuss both sides of the argument and share my opinion. In my opinion, children should definitely have the liberty to make their own decisions; however, since they are too young to understand what is good or bad for them, parents should help them make the right decisions. Traditionally, parents play a huge role in nurturing their kids with the best of ethics and making them learn good things including how to behave and perform in society. This can turn them into good and responsible citizens of the society who first prioritize their family, self than society, in general. For example, as a,boy I would prefer to spend time with video games than cleaning a street in a volunteer role. On the other side, few parents insist and do not encourage kids to be decisive, at least not on all matters. For example, kids are not allowed to decide on which school they need to join. Parents control few decisions which help to benefit their kids. No parent in the world would like to see their kids as a failure owing self decisions. To conclude, both parents and their children should consult each other when making a decision. This can benefit the wisdom of parents. I believe that even though children should be allowed to make their own choices, parents should teach them to respect the feelings of others; otherwise, they may end up becoming selfish.