Nowadays many people prefer to use their own cars to commute rather than buses and trains. Why do you think this is happening? What can the government do to change it?

In the modern and permanently changing world, owning a car is not only a symbol of social status but rather more a necessity for people who want to be at work and at home on time. Moreover, the existing problems with public transport don’t let the majority of people refuse to commute by cars. I will try to unveil some of these problems in my essay. To begin with, there are several predominant factors forcing people to prefer their own conveyance rather than buses and trains. First and foremost, many people find it convenient and comfortable to commute with their families as compared to public transit. As it often happens, the buses are too overcrowded during peak hours. Furthermore, most buses are equipped with diesel engines and it is uncomfortable for passengers to feel traffic fumes inside when the bus is standing with a working engine, particularly for persons who have chronic diseases and children. Besides, the journey by car is much more flexible and free than to other types of transport. People can stop and take breaks at any place as well as at any point of time suitable to them. However, on the other hand, humanity has already faced congested traffic problems in the megalopolises. Nowadays, entry into the town centre is prohibited for cars in many big cities due to traffic problems. Traffic jams became a day-to-day problem for people living in urban areas. Solving these issues is impossible without developing and modernising the public transport network. Additionally, the government should create conditions for widespread such modes of individual transport as bicycles and electric scooters. In conclusion, although many people prefer to travel by their own car,for now, patterns of urban development more likely will lead to expulsion the cars out from the cities in the near future.