It is generally believed that the Internet is an excellent means of communication but some people suggest that it may not be the best place to find information. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, we have witnessed tremendous advancements in technology, and an example of which would be accessibility to the internet for the vast majority of the population. As a result, people have considered this as a tool to fetch desired information and to communicate with each other, however, it has been the centre of debates associating both positive and negative views to itself. First and foremost, the very fundamental ideology behind the development of a worldwide network was to connect as many people as possible for the purpose of faster, cheaper and easier communication. Therefore, after a successful connection, you would be enabled to access a huge amount of data in addition to the ability to send yours to the world which means you could easily make contact with whomever you want wherever they are. Thus, many claims that the internet is of the most rewarding inventions of mankind in history. On the other hand, the plethora of information provided by this network could become its Achilles' heel for two main reasons. Firstly, it could be overwhelming to find what exactly you were looking for. For example, if you want to book a room, it could easily provide you with thousands of options which certainly makes the selection process harder. Secondly, since everyone is free to share their point of view and there isn't necessarily an organization to overview the content, you could frequently find yourself facing controversial comments in regards to almost every possible subject. For instance, for a proven theory with demonstrated evidence that would illustrate that the Earth is in the shape of a sphere, you can find a whole community that objects to this statement and argues that it is flat. Hence, people believe that the web might not be a perfect tool to gather the needed information. In conclusion, there are many merits that the internet has brought us such as accessibility while at the same time, it is seen as its drawbacks since it could lead to confusion for the misinformed individuals. In my opinion, I believe that the benefits outweigh the demerits and just as similar to any other tool that humans have invented, this one could also be misused however, that shouldn't prevent us from exploiting it and to solve that obstacle we just need to learn to utilize it responsibly.