In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The cost of living differs according to which country you are in. The expenses of staying in a country like the Philippines vary greatly compared to the United States. I believe it is only beneficial to live away from your family if it is the norm or you are financially capable of sustaining a life in your chosen area for university. In countries like the Philippines, university students often live with their parents due to financial constraints and culture. It is the norm for the parents there to support their children all throughout their education and students often don't have jobs. Which implies that they won't have the funds to move away. Additionally, Filipino parents often provide transportation and allowances to allow their children to focus more on their education. However, this hinders the independence and freedom of students as they are still under the supervision of their parents. But with no means to support themselves, in this instance, the disadvantages of moving out would outweigh the advantages. In the United States, it is the norm for children over 18 to move out and support themselves. They are able to do that because people under the age of 18 are allowed to have jobs and parents are more open for their children to work. They would have the financial means to support themselves and provide basic needs such as housing and food. Furthermore, the experience of being away would help them grow to be more independent and have more control over their life. So, if they are financially capable, then moving out would be beneficial as this would allow new experiences to improve as a person and discover themselves in a new light. To conclude, the variables to consider in living away from home vary from country to country due to variables such as finances and culture. You have to look at your present situation and how it reflects your future and decide whether or not it is in your best interest to move away.