Some people think that the government should put a tax on unhealthy food to encourage people to eat more healthily. Do you agree / disagree?

It is widespread knowledge that prepared food harms one’s health. Ultimately, continual consumption of these products will lead to digestive problems, inactivity, or worse, strokes. However, the government should not tax unhealthy provisions since this method is ineffective and unsuitable for the current dynamic, fast-paced world. Initially, notwithstanding a tax, fast food is locally available and affordable for most citizens worldwide. These takeaway foods are well-known for their deliciousness and reasonable price. Almost all unhealthy foodstuff is low-cost, making it attractive to children, students, and even adults. Should the taxes be too low, the change would be imperceptible? People will not stop consuming these products, although they are set with higher prices. Presuming that the new cost doubles, even triples the original one, the manufacturers and distributors of these production would go bankrupt almost immediately. Without customers, these mega-corporations will struggle to remain in the market, let alone profit from it. Additionally, banning processed food will make it much more difficult for humans to survive in this constantly changing world. A busy family is a salient instance. They have to grab their bites on the go, with virtually no time for a freshly prepared meal like in the past. A sandwich, some bread, and juice boxes will become the norm for people as we advance into the future. The prohibition of these essential items will not allow citizens to continue this highly mobile lifestyle. They will have to return to their former habits at the expense of their productivity. For the reasons aforementioned, governments worldwide should not impose a tax on fast food, for the effort is proven futile and counter-productive in the context of today’s world. Instead of charging steeper prices for these products, we should make nourishing food more readily available and affordable to alter this detrimental habit.