Gone are the days when children dreamed of becoming doctors and nurses – today’s children want to become YouTubers or vloggers. According to a survey of 1,000 children aged six to 17, more than three quarters of them say they’d consider a career in online videos. It is dangerous for kids to aspire to become a YouTube sensation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has always been one of the cliches to ask children which career they wanted to pick when they become an adult. With the growth of social media, many youngsters crave to be bloggers or YouTubers. Despite all the advantages media brought us, parents cannot still trust such platforms and they assume being fully occupied with the virtual world could do them harm and cannot be considered as a suitable job. I personally agree to some extent. To begin with, it must be indicated that media fever has been spread pretty widely that no one can deny its effect on our routine life. The youth are not an exception to that either, the more they see bloggers and their fancy lives, the thirstier they become to be one of them. Suppose you are a teenager and your device is filled with videos that tell you being wealthy needs no hard work or high levels of education. All you need is to be familiar with some applications and how to post online and gain followers. Soon you will be considered rich and popular. With that in mind, most children see no points in educating and bearing with hardships. Hence, that is when they decide to gain it all over a night instead of trying harder to achieve fame and wealth. Another example could be nowadays challenges which are becoming contagious. They post the most personal stuff online without considering how dangerous it can be for their safety. Additionally, it must not be left unsaid that the more they are drawn into this, the less creative they become. Not only have they no innovation for making those videos, but they also just copy and follow up some patterns without knowing why or how the original pattern was made. However, sometimes some teenagers would use these platforms to make useful context, unfortunately most of them are just going down the same path other bloggers have gone. Moreover, after a period they would go down the hill and their fame would fade away soon. A tangible example of that would many Youtubers who became famous in the blink of an eye but their popularity did not last for so long. To sum up, it should not be forgotten that although media has made our lives more convenient in many numerous ways, it still has its own drawbacks. Our youngsters must learn that utilizing modern platforms are beneficial, as long as we do not over-use or mal-use them.