Some scientists believe that studying the behavior of 3-year-old children can predict their criminality. To what extent do you think a crime is a product of human nature, or is it possible to stop children from growing up to be criminals?

Some scientists are of the opinion that hereditary characteristics are responsible for the person’s temperament and hence future career. I disagree with this notion. I believe genes do play a role, but the primary determinant is nurture – education and bringing up. It is definitely possible to mould a child into any direction by proper bringing-up. If we adopt the mindset that if parents are criminals then so will the children be, we are limiting or even damaging the individual’s basic right to achieve his very best. Children can rise above the gene pool and rise to great heights. Even if a child is born to criminal parents but brought up away from that environment and provided quality education, he will not be a criminal. The debate on nature versus nurture has been raging for ages, and no clear cut answer has come forward. A child prodigy can be born to ordinary parents, and many intelligent parents can have ordinary children. A talented person can go unnoticed in the absence of the right environment and upbringing, and an ordinary person can reach great heights with proper training. So the interplay between hereditary and environmental factors must be there. It has been seen that children born to intelligent parents also are intelligent and successful. But it is also possible that such parents provide an environment which nurtures the development of their children. When we see some programmes such as ‘India’s Got Talent’ and ‘Little Champs’, we notice some extremely gifted children who are born with talent and also some who have achieved great heights with great perseverance and proper coaching. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that both nature and nurture play a part in determining the character of a person. It can also be concluded that both are inextricably linked with each other. But nurture weighs over nature, and it is definitely possible to prevent children from growing up to be criminals.