The government is spending a lot of money to discover life on other planets. Some people think that government is wasting money and should spend more money addressing the problems of public. To what extent do you agree?

A lot of the government's spending is on the NASA program to look for alternate planets to see whether they will support life. This is more of a divided opinion, as many believe that the government is wasting time rather than solving the current problems on earth, whilst others feel it is necessary for human survival. In my opinion, I feel the government must spend on this cause, I shall substantiate my reasons in this essay. On one hand, the current global warming rates have reached a limit where, it is now of utmost importance to find another planet, which can sustain life as per the atmospheric conditions of the earth. For instance, a recent study shows Mars is the most like to like a planet, in terms of the earth's atmospheric conditions, which can sustain life. Also, the identification of a river system on Mars has laid claim to the fact that Mars in a way is more similar to earth as compared to any of the other planets. Alternately, the public feels that with the amount being spent on the space program to find life on other planets, that money could be spent on providing better healthcare to its citizens, trying to eradicate poverty, improve the educational and infrastructural systems, and most important to stop unemployment amongst the middle-class citizens. For instance, the spending budget of NASA on average runs into the billions, which is used for other purposes, could drastically improve the living conditions of the people. In conclusion, I feel it is very important for the government to be spending on their science program, because due to the increase in global warming on earth, the conditions are slowly becoming inhabitable and therefore it is necessary to find an alternate planet which would be able to support life, for the continuation of the human race.