Large business has big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

In recent times, a big portion of each company's budget has been invested in marketing and promotion. This has certainly been beneficial for larger activities, whose sales have increased dramatically. However, there are problems that are caused by this monopoly of big businesses, and I'm going to discuss them in this essay, as well as ways to solve them. One of the biggest issues caused by marketing procedures is that local shops are being overshadowed by larger shops. In fact, to be able to advertise your products on social media as well as billboards, for example, you have to invest large sums of money on promotion, and local activities definitely cannot do that. Moreover, it's clear that most people, especially teens, are going to buy brands that are hugely known, instead of others that are smaller and less known. For instance, in the last few years, websites for clothes such as Shein have become really popular thanks to their marketing strategies, and nobody can really compete with them now that everybody knows who they are. On the other side, small businesses should be helped and people should be encouraged to buy from them. To do so, there should be discounts or events that could attract more people, because right now most adults really value the cost of what they are buying. Especially because of the pandemic, lots of stores have suffered economically, but others have suffered as well, so discounts could be helpful. For example, in my town around Christmas, there was this huge event, and if you bought something from small stores, you had the opportunity to win a prize, and I think that's a wonderful idea. In conclusion, surely right now we are encouraged to buy from big chains, whose products are highly advertised, although small stores' sales have decreased because of it so there should be events and discounts that could help them gain new clients.