Some people think that government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a burgeoning increase in the number of obese children nowadays and while others believed that this is mainly the responsibility of the authorities, I disagree with this notion and will be elicited further in the following paragraphs. There are many factors affecting the physical wellbeing of a child. Weight gain in children is mainly due to the lifestyle of a child's parents because the food that the they serve their children will definitely affect the overall health of a child. In congruence with the 2020 research on Saudi children, result shows that 80% of their parents are feeding their children with fast food meals especially on weekdays. These resulted to an increase in obese and diabetic children in Saudi Arabia. The family of a child must ensure that they eat a balanced diet. Educators have a great impact on our youth; therefore, health, weight management and physical education must be taught in schools. For an instance, schools and universities in Saudi Arabia curriculum do not include Physical education, as a result 70% of the students have a higher body mass index as compared to the students in Bahrain, who include sports education in their syllabus. It is therefore highly recommended that children must be taught physical exercises and sports to remain active and healthy. In a nutshell, the government is not accountable for the conspicuous trend in the stoutness of children. Parents are liable in ensuring that the youngsters are fed with nutritious diet and teachers are responsible in incorporating exercise in schools’ daily activities.