Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance, such as food and housing. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some persons argue that prosperous nations should take in more refugees, supporting them with food and shelter. In this essay, I am going to explain why I strongly agree with this argument due to the seriousness of this issue and then demonstrate how refugees can collaborate with the countries that accepted these new residents. Firstly, I think that is morally expected for rich countries to help displaced persons. Unfortunately, these migrants run away from their own land because they suffer from serious problems there, such as civil wars. In many cases, they are deeply desperate and they do not have other plausible options rather than look for new opportunities far away from their hometown to stay alive. One example is a Syrian child found dead on a Mexican beach after an unsuccessful swimming crossing. This terrible case provoked a global commotion and many requests for humanitarian support coming from the first world. On top of that, displaced persons can boost the labour force in wealthy countries. Many of these nations have been facing the problem of decreasing the birth rate. As result, these populations are being more ageing, compromising the workforce available. Therefore, foreign residents can provide positive benefits for them. A study from Oxford University demonstrated that Europe has the lowest birth rate around the world. Apart from that, this research evidenced that it will be necessary two current workers to maintain financially one retired individual in the next decades. In conclusion, I reiterate my opinion that prosperous nations should welcome as many refugees as they can because this is a serious question that demands ethical and moral measures urgently. Moreover, these new residents can occupy employments available, helping to maintain the local economy in well-developed regions.