Many people believe that the social networking sites have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extend do you agree?

Social networking sites, for instance Facebook, are thought to have caused detrimental impacts on individuals, society & local communities by few people in the society. However, while I believe that these sites are beneficial for the individuals, I agree that they have had a damaging effect on the culture of local communities. With regards to individuals, the impact social media sites have had on each individual person has clear advantages. Firstly, people from different countries are brought together on a common platform through such sites whereas,before the development of technology and social networking sites, people rarely had a chance to meet or communicate with people outside their immediate circle or local community. Secondly, Facebook also has social groups which offer individuals a chance to meet and participate in discussions with people who share common interests. On the other hand, the effect Facebook and other social networking sites have had on society and local communities can only be seen as negative. Rather than participating in local community discussions, individuals started to prefer communicating with people online. Consequently, the bond between people in local communities has weakened. Furthermore, the local societies have become disjointed and fragmented as people started to spend more time online with people whom they have never met and are very less likely to meet in future. To conclude, though social networking sites are beneficial for individuals to connect with people across the world and participate in discussions related to their common interests, they have had negative effects on societies and local communities as people no longer show interest to meet directly. Local communities should do something different about this to break this trend and encourage people to gather together again to promote the future of community life.