Nowadays, in many countries people are following the latest fashion, hairstyles and so on. Why are they so influenced by fashion? Is it a positive or a negative development?

Many folks extensively follow the newest fashion figures, ranging from garment or hairstyle to house decoration. There are various personal and social reasons for influencing people to do so. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this approach outweigh its advantages. In this day and age, the majority of the individuals, especially adolescents and young ones, seem to have excess time and a more convenient life but fewer aims. This attitude along with the advent of social media has resulted in an overwhelming tendency in fashion. Moreover, most of the celebrities who impress and orientate this industry, have an Instagram page or appear on advertisements on television, billboards and magazines. It is flabbergasting that imitation of those whom they admire is inevitable for some people. Besides, if the person is not trendy and fashionable, she might be mocked up by his / her friends and escorts. I believe this circumstance as a consequence of the modern digital era has diverse negative effects. Firstly, it is obviously a waste of time and money and eventuates in consumerism. This is exactly the opposing view to "sustainable fashion " that I have sympathy for it because it is in the direction of preserving water and the environment. Furthermore, this manner would result in a shopaholic person who is always keen on updating his / her wardrobe, hairstyle and home. This addiction might even affect the one in a way that he / she loses his / her own identity and opinions. In conclusion, social networks, advertisements, and lack of strong personality have given rise to being influenced by novel fashion patterns. However, its drawbacks on the individual's time, money and characteristics are more significant than its positive impacts; hence the desire should be controlled.