Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Most of the population spend their time in their workplace and are left with minute time for their hobbies. This scenario has a high number of demerits. However, this scenario turns out to be advantageous for a certain type of employees. I will be taking both stands and explain why disadvantages outweigh advantages. To begin with, Some corporates glorify over-working by rewarding their employees as best employee of the month or provide them with some incentives. Owing to this kind of corporate culture, it was instilled upon the associates that spending extra hours in the office is a performance measure to their careers. One clear example is when a friend of mine closed big deals for the company and contributed to the rise of the key performance index and lived happily enjoying his free time with friends playing badminton after work. Consequently, his colleague who stayed in the office after the office time was rewarded with a bonus for that month. For this reason, corporates fail in maintaining their key performance index which makes it disadvantageous both for the company and the person's welfare. On the other hand, there are some exceptions where people really enjoy what they do at work. Hence they tend to stay back after the office working on future projects. To illustrate, I personally enjoy working on computers as it fascinates me to see the potential that a man-made machine can achieve. For people like me, it is advisable to choose what we prefer to do in our free time given that, there is no pressure from the management. Thus, there are clear advantages to very few. In conclusion, servicing for a long day and spending a fraction of time on fun hobbies should be a personal choice. So, in today's world considering the vast population, the disadvantages clearly outweigh the advantages. It is also recommended that everyone should be vocal about their opinions on the work culture at a corporate when they feel abnormalities in it.