The prevention of health problems and health illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree?

The advancement of technology and the pollution of our environment have adverse effects on our health. Some people say, that the medicines and treatment should be enhanced so as to help people in their time of need, whilst others believe it is the government who should fund different projects which look into the prevention of such situations rather than spending money on treatment. I agree with the premise that the prevention of health problems should be the priority of the authorities and I will substantiate my reasons in this essay. On one hand, it is important for the administration, to allocate funds for areas in the cities for creating parks, which will give the public an opportunity to mingle outside, rather than inside and online. Not only that, but the parks will also be a safer place for the collective to exercise as they can avoid the traffic on the roads. An example of this would be in Trivandrum, where there are no recreational grounds available and so if people want to exercise, they need to carry out the activities on the roads, which are very dangerous to both themselves and the motorists. The leadership should also fund the planting of trees in an attempt to clean the air in the metropolis. Alternately, people believe that the ministry should plunge more funding into treatments and medicines because we are already living in a situation where diseases like obesity, diabetes, etc are already prevailing, and asking patients of such illnesses to get out and exercise more and eat right is a long and slow process. Wherein, they need help now, so it is imperative to have the treatments and medicines available on hand to solve this problem. To conclude, I believe the foremost responsibility of the cabinet is to provide funding for the prevention of sickness, rather than increase the supply of medicine. As the saying goes “Prevention is better than cure”.