There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music?

The importance of music has always been an area of contention around the world. According to studies, it helps people to cure brain damages, increase IQ, reduce stress and anxiety levels. In schools, it inspires children to become more creative, learn languages and improve their academic performance. The following paragraphs will discuss the importance of music in human beings' lives in detail. To commence, listening to classical music can increase an individual's intellectual abilities and make them smarter. The so-called Mozart effect is one of the most popular scientific concepts. According to it, listening to classical music can raise an individual's IQ by up to 9 points. This is because it improves spatial reasoning. Abstract thinking is essential for people engaged in, for example, math, engineering and science. Moreover, children listening to music can learn foreign languages easier. The part of the brain that is activated while listening to music is also responsible for learning languages. Adding further, music can facilitate mental and physical health. While feeling anxious or sad, people often turn on their favourite music to cope with stress and anxiety. In turn, it reduces chances for developmental issues like, for instance, depression. Dancing under good songs also improves our mood, makes us happier and physically healthier. Needless to say, the quality of our lives would be significantly decreased without music. To conclude, music plays overriding importance in our society. It does not only fulfil our basic need for rhythm, melody and aesthetic pleasure, but it also makes us more intelligent.