There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

The role of music in society has always been an area of contention around the world. It can increase intellectual abilities, facilitate physical and mental health along with promoting a country's national heritage. However, I do not share this opinion. The following paragraphs will discuss the importance of music in our daily lives, and explain why traditional and international music are equally important. To commence, music can enhance physical and mental health, classical genres can make people more intelligent. According to the most significant scientific research called the Mozart effect, listening to classical music can increase IQ by up to 9 points. This happens because it stimulates spatial thinking, which is important, for example, in math, engineering and science. Moreover, listening to music can help people to cope with stress and anxiety. As a result, individuals will be less likely to fall into depression. There are different types of music, like traditional and international ones. Traditional ones are a vital part of a country's heritage. It usually reflects how people have been living in the old days. This type of music is preserved and promoted by governments. For instance, every two years, Samarkand hosts a festival of folk music. Participants from more than 60 countries play their national music. Nonetheless, it is difficult to say that one type of music is more important than the other one. I believe that international and traditional music types are equally important. To conclude, the role of music in the lives of societies and individuals is of overriding importance. It not only fulfils our basic need for rhythm but also reflects the history of a community and helps to cope with the daily stress.