It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Some people argue that educating the difference between right and wrong is so essential for young children that punishment is necessary for them to learn this distinction. I agree with this statement as long as parents and teachers make an agreement with their children on the punishment in advance. If so, the sentence for the learners should be designed to acquire more knowledge and experience. Punishment as a regulation in families and schools can lead children to understand the realistic way of practising right and wrong. By discussing and setting up the guidelines of its implements with adults, the children get to approach similar methods as society and law are organized. According to research on moral and legal awareness of youngsters, in many primary schools imposing some sanctions, students have tended to accept and follow everyday law, such as waiting for the green light before crossing the street, more faithfully than those in other schools. To stimulate good behaviour of children, the punishment should be implemented in an educational way. Specifically, what children themselves dislike but need to would be the best such as writing down an extended essay about the wrongdoings. To mention a few, when they break a vital rule for the first time, essay punishment is proper. After that, in the case of repetition, additional methods like presenting essays in front of other pupils can be introduced. Thus, this way will make the imperfect learners reflect on their behaviours and rectify them. To conclude, punishment should be needed for the young learners to realize social rules if they participate in making them. Also, the types of sanctions should be helpful for them to gain achievement in academic or thoughts.