Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Do you agree or disagree.

In this day and age, the rising crime rate in several parts of the world has led to an argument of whether improvements in education would be a better measure to deal with criminals than imprisonment. From my perspective, I disagree with this statement and believe that both of these methods should be used specifically in certain circumstances. To commence with, it is undeniable that education plays a vital role in tackling crime-related issues since it addresses the problem from its root. Not only does schooling teach youngsters and citizens proper behaviours, but it also eliminates the idea of committing crimes out of their minds, as well as raises public awareness about preventing illegalities. Nonetheless, this approach can not ensure that the community is safe from extremely dangerous law offenders such as rapists and murderers since it is a soft method and educating those people seems to be impossible. I am convinced that prison and education should be considered equally as each of them is efficient in different situations and has certain impacts on society. Prison sentences can send out a message for would-be criminals, which discourages them to involve in crimes. As a result, the crime rate will fall as more and more people are afraid of being charged or punished by the government. In conclusion, while it is true that better education is a good idea to solve crimes and raise awareness, it is not the optimal approach. Additionally, I advocate that both educational methods and prison sentences should be taken into consideration when choosing a way to punish lawbreakers.