In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It can not be denied that the advances of technologies give birth to the proliferation of electronic books. Such a phenomenon leads to an assumption that physical books and newspapers will no longer be preferred due to the fact that online resources are free of charge. However, considering the collecting value of physical books and their availability to a wide range of readers, I firmly believe that printed books and newspapers will still be popular. First and foremost, the fact physical books not only serve as media for spreading information but also symbols of memory and history indicates that printed books and newspapers offer people irreplaceable value in the collection. This is because online materials depend on electronic devices such as laptops, which might not be feasible to be demonstrated to others and have the risk of being lost owing to the breakdown of those electronic platforms. For example, it is a tendency for people to send friends books with their own words on covers, engendering unique books in the world, and showing love and support to receivers. As a result, even if buying books can be money-consuming, people are still inclined to possess them considering the value they may bring. Although electronic devices such as mobile phones, computers, and laptops are no longer novelties due to the improvement of people's living standards, a considerable proportion of people in the society especially those from undeveloped regions can not afford these devices, leaving them any choice but to approach to printed books and newspapers to acquire knowledge and absorb information. Take the west part of China as an example, where the Internet is not as pervasive as that in metropolises, physical book stores are still highly popular for children and the old generation. In a nutshell, I maintain the point that physical books and newspapers will not disappear in society considering their collecting value, and the status quo that not everyone has access to the Internet.