Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

Certain people claim that school children should not be given homework while others contend that it is a necessary aspect of education. In my view, setting homework is essential and beneficial for students. There might be several reasons why people hold the view that setting homework is unnecessary at school. Firstly, homework could do little to improve educational outcomes. In Finland, for instance, children do not have practice and show much better performance on standardised tests than students in countries where homework is given on a daily basis. Secondly, having plenty of extracurricular classes such as sport or art, most children are already overwhelmed with various assignments. This makes it extremely challenging for them to effectively cope with all the tasks assigned by teachers. Despite the arguments mentioned above, homework has a crucial role to play in the schooling of children. It undoubtedly boosts learner autonomy and develops self-discipline. In other words, while doing homework adolescents become more independent taking responsibility for their own learning, and get used to studying alone. For example, while completing geometry tasks students reinforce skills and concepts they have studied in class. Children can also research the areas they are struggling with or learn more about the topics they are keen on. Such learning skills could make further university studies much easier. In conclusion, I would argue that consistent homework assignments have a positive impact not only on self-discipline but also on developing students’ independence from teachers. Moreover, practice helps school children realise the importance of practice as well as research.