Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

As technology gets more advanced, the packaging of some products becomes varied. Thus, more and more waste is produced without proper treatment. Part of the society believes that it is the government's role to encourage people's awareness about recycling by enacting laws. To address this problem, I argue that there are some alternatives that can be implemented including investing in recycling facilities and proposing stringent laws. Firstly, it is important for the government to provide waste management technology in order to raise public awareness about sustainable environment. For example, if recycling technology is available in each district, people will find it easier to reduce their waste. As a result, it becomes their daily routine and they do it voluntarily. However, to raise global initiative, everybody should build strong teamwork and it could take ages, but that does not mean impossible to bring into reality. Secondly, government intervention is highly needed to yield an optimum result. For instance, a strict law should be carried out if someone violates the mandatory rule of recycling goods. This can be solved by performing a sanction, such as a financial fine. Hopefully, this policy will give them deterrent effect and they will eventually obey the regulation. Moreover, this is a more effective way to preserve the environment since people tend to follow the rule if there is punishment. In conclusion, many procedures are available to make recycling possible. One of them is increasing people's awareness first about eco-friendly stuffs. After that, the government can intervene by formulating environmental policy.