Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

It is argued by some commentators that kids should be taught foreign language from primary level rather than middle school level. Despite having several drawbacks, this essay is of the opinion that merits are worthy enough to neglect them and the reasons will be further elucidated with examples. Undoubtedly there is a myriad of perks for teaching a foreign language to young school children early on. Firstly, by starting at an early age while their brains are like a blank canvas, it may be easier to absorb the vocabulary and grammar. Therefore, as they grow, they can gradually build up their proficiency just like their primary language. Secondly, compared to starting at a later time, fluency can be enhanced since they have grown up with a familiarity with it. Lastly, they can easily use the foreign language interchangeably with their mother tongue which is beneficial if they opt to study abroad at a later time in life. A good example would be the Singapore education system where kids are brought up being interacted by both Mandarin and English, and as a result, the Singaporeans are fluent in both languages. On the contrary, there are some downsides of this case as well. For one, young students will have various subjects to focus on. To supplement, primary skills such as literacy of native language, numeric and logic should be prioritised, hence, adding another syllabus would be an overload for them. For instance, according to research by Victoria University, children younger than the age of 7 who were taught more than 3 subjects at school shows a higher level of distress. Another notable factor would be the impact on the fluency of native language. Being immensely familiar with another language would encourage the kids to lose touch with their customs and tradition. To conclude, although there are a few noteworthy drawbacks such as overpressure of lessons and a potential dissatisfying effect on native tradition, they are minimal compared to the gains. There are more robust arguments for advantages since it is easier for children to start early, guaranteed mastery of the language gradually, and advantageous if they decide to pursue further education at a foreign country.