In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Housing is a fundamental thing that one shall possess, either by renting or buying it. It is believed that, in some countries, owning a home instead of renting one is crucial for people. This essay will explain why buying a home is essential for some people; and whether it is better to own a house rather than renting one. To embark on, for some countries, owning a residence is not only about having a house, it is also considered to be a wealth indicator. Due to the fact that purchasing a house requires a huge amount of money, people who own it are assumed to be rich and do get more respect than those who rent a house. To illustrate, when there are events or parties where a friend from high school gather, a friend who owns a house is more likely to get attention than those who rent. Thus, to be an owner of a house means more than having a shelter or a place to live, it is a status indicator as well. Nevertheless, it does not means that renting a house is terrible. In fact, renting a house has many benefits. For instance, if such a person has a profession that requires to move a lot, renting is much more convenient as he/she can just change a place to rent, while those who own a house may have to sell a house and buy a new one. Hence, house owning is not always better, it depends on your lifestyle and career. To conclude, whether buying or renting one, having a house is essential; in some countries, owning or renting a house is not only about having a shelter but also an indication of wealth. Nonetheless, being an owner of a house does not always a good thing, especially for those who have a job that needs to move a lot. Therefore, it is my view that one has to weigh the benefits and drawbacks, based on his/her own preference, before renting or buying a house.