In the past important knowledge of culture and history was stored in the museums. Nowadays information is freely available on the internet so there is no need for museums. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For a long time, museums have been serving as crucial sources of both cultural and historical information, showcasing items belonging to different civilizations, ethnic groups or events. Nevertheless, with the possibility of acquiring data online, some people have recently started to question the relevance of museums in today's world, claiming that they are no longer necessary. I completely disagree with this point of view for some reasons. The primary argument in support of museums is that they provide clear evidence in the form of artefacts along with explanations. This makes them scientifically more valuable as opposed to information provided by online sources— such as Wikipedia and forums—which are contributed by ordinary people and are occasionally fact-checked. Consequently, the information provided on the internet can lead people astray, causing misinterpretations, wrong data analysis and flawed research. This is unlikely to be the case with museums, since researchers and people in general deal with tangible objects and related information on the spot. Another reason why museums still play an important part in imparting cultural and historical knowledge is that they provide an immersive experience. For example, I have been to the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum in Washington D.C. and was astonished by gigantic airplane models on display, while at the same time familiarizing myself with the history of different aircraft, pioneers in the field and their qualities. The impact of such places is paramount in educating the youth, because information on the internet is limited to text and some media, which can be boring for learners. We can also see some modern museums incorporate state-of-the-art technologies, such as augmented reality demonstrations and interactive shows to enrich user experience. This clearly shows that in the digital age, museums are still relevant and even vital for providing education to people. In conclusion, I don't support the notion that museums are obsolete in this day and age although increasingly more people have access to the internet. This is because museums not only provide more accurate information about culture and history, but they also kindle one's interest more effectively than online resources, underpinning the essential impact of museums.