Health experts believe that walking is a good exercise for health. However, people are walking less nowadays. What is this happening? How can people be encouraged to walk more?

It is commonly believed that doing regular exercises such as walking help to maintain the body fit and healthy yet many do not prefer to do so. There are several reasons why people are walking less but this situation can be remedied with effective measures. There are many justifications why people walk short distances. To begin with, most of the places people need to go is often situated in faraway places and they feel lazy to walk. This increases over-dependence on motor vehicles rather than walking as it provides more comfort. For instance, a study in an Australian journal reported that the number of vehicle users jumped rapidly over the past decades which considerably reduced pedestrians numbers. Moreover, people lead a hectic life nowadays. In detail, they feel exhausted and tiresome when returning home after work and enjoy free time watching tv and which eventually make them couch potatoes. This results in no or occasional exercise. Various steps could be undertaken to reverse this tendency. To begin with, the government should initiate efforts to keep the necessary amenities such as schools, hospitals and grocery stores within walkable distances so that the citizen can avail the facilities easily. In addition, increasing awareness among the population about the health hazards of a sedentary lifestyle would be a good step towards encouraging people to walk. Health campaigns ads on television is a good example to educate people about the risk factors of an unhealthy lifestyle. In conclusion, there are myriad possible reasons for people to walk short distances and a few solutions are effective in reversing the trend.