In some countries, the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Recently, there has been a rise in the average weight of the citizens in a number of countries alongside a decline in their strength and fitness conditions. Given that this trend leads to a whole host of issues for human-being, identifying the reasons behind it is key to finding the solutions. Initially, the most significant reasons lay in the dramatic shift of the public’s eating and working pattern. Since a majority of low-quality products such as fast food have been introduced to a range of regions; the residents, especially the young, are inclined to purchase those commodities rather than preparing meals themselves. Thereafter, if the amount of such unhealthy consumption exceeds the limit of the human body, this could be problematic for the consumers’ strength, which commonly results in heart-related diseases and digestive disorders. Additionally, the massive use of digital devices as computers for long hours has also contributed to this issue. This is because technology has revolutionized the way people work, which means nowadays jobs frequently require technical devices and working incessantly. Consequently, workers in that conditions are likely to face certain health problems, for example, backache and obesity. Nevertheless, there are also a variety of solutions, both individual and governmental, to reverse this trend. The first feasible approach would be for the government to regulate poor quality food like alcohol industries. By putting a restriction on opening hours and selling locations, for example, far away from schools; the government can convey a clear signal about the detrimental effects of this. Another possible measure would be for individuals to form a balanced working style, which in particular allows them to take a few short breaks during working time for at least 5 minutes. Once their mind and body are almost recharged, they tend to perform better their tasks which not only help avoid the aforementioned diseases but also stress and work pressure. In conclusion, although the trend might be difficult to counteract, there are ways to get around it. The coordination among government, city officials, corporations, and citizens can certainly make a difference in their health and lifestyle.