Some people believe the purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Despite the fact that it has been pointed out by some that training individuals to become useful members of society is the purpose of education, other people suggest that educational establishments ought to help people to fulfil their goals. Personally, I agree with the former idea as having ample useful members is beneficial to the development of society and nations. On the one hand, some people, including me, believe that filling with sufficient useful professionals has a positive impact on countries. The reason is that when a country has manipulated a development plan and recognized its shortages, only if academic institutions follow the nation’ s outline to educate the much-needed pupils, the country can become stronger. For instance, in China, a massive number of universities launched campaigns to persuade their students to enrol in astronomy a few years ago as China planed to become a leader in this area. As a result, there are countless astronomy graduates and workers in China currently, which contributes to that China has become a leading country in astronomical science. On the other hand, some individuals argue that the function of schools and universities is helping pupils to attain their ambitions. This is because when students are able to follow their hearts to learn their favourite major, their passions will drive them to invest a considerable amount of time into their study, so they are far more likely to become successful people, which benefits their personal development. As an illustration, a huge proportion of famous artists state that they were extremely lucky to be able to put their name in the subject that they are passionate about when choosing their major. Although it is incredibly tough for them to think about fascinating ideas to create masterpieces, they always have a positive attitude towards their career, thus leading to their success. In conclusion, people may vary in their opinion about the aim of education, while I am of the opinion that education should help society and countries to cultivate highly qualified professionals that countries lack, which contributes to their nations’ advancement.