In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many individuals argue that the construction of quick speed train railway lines should be prioritised even though it costs a huge amount of money. Some people believe that the development of current public transportation should go first. While some individuals think that the very fast train is urgently needed, I would argue that it would be better to improve the existing transportation system in advance. On the one hand, it is generally believed that high-speed trains would be beneficial for connecting cities in more efficient ways. As a matter of fact, people can easily go to a neighbour city for business matters or just a simple vacation. For example, Jakarta citizens can reach Bandung for just one and half hours with a specialised fast train, which is twice faster than the existing train or highway route. However, the construction of this advanced vehicle needs a huge amount of money, which is funded and treated as debt by some foreign companies. Hence, the government should limit the high budget and fancy investment and spread the budget to more impactful sectors. On the other hand, it is also argued that the existing public transportation system should be improved first. In fact, more people use the current public transportation instead of the high-speed train. For instance, a Jakarta family tends to ride their own car through highway toll when having a trip to a tourism destination place in Bandung, since they usually ride around and explore many sites in that area. In addition, the transportation cost of the existing transportation, such as public buses or trains, is relatively cheap for some travellers compared to the advanced transportation. Therefore, it looks like the government should splash some cash to develop the current public transport. In conclusion, it seems to me that it is better to improve and rejuvenate the existing public transportation first, although the construction of high-speed trains would be beneficial in the future.