Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is convinced by a fair amount of people that advertising has a significant influence on consumers in buying goods or products, while others argue that advertising is overrated as people are not paying attention to it. This essay will cover each side of the argument in turn. Nonetheless, it is my view that I agree with the former. To embark on, some people believe that advertising does not have any impact on consumers’ decisions because the consumers’ are used to it. Due to the fact that advertising has long been with consumers for over centuries; people are immuned. In recent years, people tend to notice whenever the seller tries to imply the advertising in the movies. For instance, the movie — Avengers— tries to advertise Pepsi by having Iron man drinking it on screen. Nevertheless, the majority of people, including myself, know better because we are accustomed to it. Thus, we can just ignore it. On the other hand, although advertising has long been with people for decades, these days, when social media is on the rise, advertisement has embodied into every aspect of people ’s lives and it cannot be easily ignored. To illustrate, my brother brought many products as he had seen an advertisement on Facebook. In particular, the key to the success of advertising nowadays is to know your consumer. Many social media platforms, such as Google, detect the users’ conversations in order to personalise the advertising, which makes the advertising more influential than it was before. Hence, based on these reasons and my experience, I am convinced that advertising affects our decisions in buying products. To conclude, it is true that people are more accustomed to advertising, yet it evolves beyond our expectations. Therefore, I am a strong believer that advertising has a huge impact on people ’s decisions to buy products. Moreover, I am certain that it will be more powerful in the foreseeable future.