In most countries fast food is becoming cheaper and more available. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The growing popularity of fast food at cheaper prices can be witnessed in many countries over a few recent years. While some are in favor of this trend due to the economic advantages and consumers’ pleasure that fast food provides, others argue that it is a negative development, especially for the overall health of society. From my viewpoint, the drawbacks of this trend are far more severe than its benefits. Advocates of the expansion of fast- food chains typically subscribe to the convenient consumption and the employment opportunities it offers. Since junk food usually has an affordable price and delicious taste, it is accessible for the majority of the public. People can find and buy fast food almost anywhere and anytime, so it is a perfect option for people with hectic schedules and do not have time for home-cooked meals. Aside from the convenience for consumers, the fast- food industry also makes contributions to the economy. Companies like KFC, Lotteria, or McDonald’s are large employers that create jobs for millions of people every year, helping to lower the unemployment rate in many countries. Also, the tax gained from their business operation can strengthen the national budget, which is then allocated to and invested in other sectors. However, the adverse impact of fast food on health is significant. Junk food itself is high in fat, sugar, salt and contains many artificial additives, all of which have been scientifically proven to be associated with many health issues such as obesity, diabetes, or hypertension. The rates of people getting these diseases are of large proportions in Western countries, where fast food consumption is also the highest. Furthermore, many fast- food manufacturers are profit-driven and thus may overlook the food safety standards. The sterilization process may be neglected and ingredients may be reused constantly, doubling the threat posed on the health of consumers. Consequences range from food poisoning, diarrhea to digestive disorders and even death. In conclusion, the widespread use of fast food implies many harms for consumers’ well-being, which overshadows the instant advantages it delivers