Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

The video game industry has become one of the largest industries in recent decades. Plenty of new games, platforms and technologies are emerging yearly which shows that this industry is still growing and more people are obtaining these products yearly. Although there are some merits, I reckon that the demerits by far outweigh them. On the one hand, this could bring about some advantages. First, research shows that children who play PC and video games will be more intelligent after growing up by reacting better to complex situations and resolving problems faster. For example, a person who faces a difficult decision in their job would deal with it as they acted in the same state in a video game in childhood. Second, by playing some categories of video games, people become familiar with new objects and phenomena which could be useful for their future. Take war games as an instance, by playing this genre people learn about different strategies, weapons and military vehicles which is useful for a person who decides to join the army. However, I believe that its drawbacks could not be rivalled. Playing video games would not only lead the player to be isolated, but also it may bring about some physical disorders because gamers usually sit for several hours and their body would not be involved in enough activity. In other words, sitting in front of a TV or monitor for long periods prevents people from social opportunities and weakens their communication skills, while it can damage their sight, skeleton and muscles as well. Moreover, addiction is another potential threat for gamers who play for a long time. The visual attraction of video games raises the probability of being addicted to them which makes it hard to quit gaming. In conclusion, although there are some advantages associated with playing video games, their downsides outweigh them dramatically. I recommend the officials make key decisions on restricting them or altering them in a more profitable way.