“Overconfidence is more of a hindrance than a help to one’s success.” Write an essay of 300 words on your agreement or disagreement with this saying.

Overconfidence is advocated to act as an impediment rather than a facilitator to one’s success. From my perspective, I voice approval of the aforementioned, in that I believe arrogance does more harm than good to any individuals’ accomplishments. In the first place, it is self-conceit that inevitably leads to either the misconception of one’s opponents or the misestimation of themselves. In other words, them taking pride in their aptitude would engender a great sense of achievement as well as superiority, thus convincing them not to embrace chances to further advance themselves. This, consequently, would result in negative repercussions or even costly failures. For instance, vain students satisfied with their current achievement without endeavouring to keep up the good work would soon have to bear the consequences of declining academic performance in the long term. What is more, it is undeniable that overconfidence would deprive some people of social deference and honour. By revelling in their aptitude, they distance themselves from society, which may well put them at a disadvantage. Hence, even if these humans are capable and competent enough, their way to success would meet with a good many upheavals due to the lack of support and respect from others. For instance, a bumptious newcomer might continuously brag about his past accomplishments rather than integrate with his workplace community, thereby not being able to settle down. As a result, that overconfidence might well cost him the occupation. All things considered, self-confidence is a delicate balance, too much of which would be an obstacle to humans’ success. Therefore, I am supportive of the above-mentioned statement, believing that getting rid of this undesirable trait would do wonders for us.