Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer techology is now replacing their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the conspicuous trends of today’s modern world is a colossal upsurge in computer technology replacing government libraries thanks to ubiquity state-of-art of technology,globalisation and modernisation.In my opinion, I partially agree with the statement outlined above, this apprehension is unwarranted and should be rejected that maintaining libraries is a waste of financial resources. To begin with, investing financially in libraries in this modern techno-savvy time is the most controversial and debatable topic.There is a deluge of arguments in favour of my stance and the most predominant one is that nowadays most people rely on smart gadgets like phones,computers and laptops for information and knowledge. For instance, a survey conducted by the Indian Institute of Technology,Ranchi, revealed that about an average of 10 hours is spent by young adolescents on the computer for education and recreational purposes. Further,even the books of various authors are available online. Secondly,managing libraries is also crucial for society so in the long term a balanced approach would be beneficial that how much both public and private universities should invest in it. For,example a survey conducted by Oxford University demonstrates that the middle-aged population mainly prefer to read books rather than trusting information available online. Moreover, reading involves using human imagination and cognitive skills as compared to reading on the screen. In a nutshell, in my opinion,both public and private organisations should come forward to implement certain policies related to spending on the libraries and all possible measures should be taken to preserve them as there is vast literature available and all of this cannot be uploaded online.