In some cultures, childrens are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

The world comprises many cultures and norms. In some cultures, teenagers are often taught that they can accomplish anything they wish for, provided that they try hard. This message serves well as an inspiration for young children, yet it could have a negative impact on them as well. To embark on, some countries, especially in underdeveloped countries, usually teach their children to stay humble and be realistic rather than dreaming of something that is impossible; and that is the reason why such countries cannot develop further. Lack of dreams, ambitions, or inspirations are detrimental to any society. People should be encouraged to dream big and aim high. To illustrate, imagine if some adults told Neil Armstrong that he should be realistic rather than telling him to dream big and try hard; there would be no men on the moon. Hence, the message that people can accomplish anything if they are trying hard is one of the essential factors of successful countries. On the other hand, this trend brings about drawbacks as well. Despite this message can motivate and inspire a lot of kids, telling it to the wrong group of people may result in negative effects; for instance, telling kids who are blind due to car accident that they could see the world again if they are trying hard. In other words, something is really not possible, giving unrealistic hope rather than helping cope with the truth is irresponsible. Thus, in some cases, it is better to teach children to be realistic rather than giving them inspiration. To conclude, a motivating statement like this message is a key to success in every society, yet it may cause negative impacts if it is told to a particular group of children. Therefore, it is important to convey these kinds of messages to the right audience.