Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extend do you agree?

It is thought by many that social networking sites, for instance, Facebook has detrimental effect on people both as individuals as well as a society or community. I completely agree with this statement, social networking sites have caused issues not only for individuals but also for communities. With regards to individuals, these networking sites, although believed that it connects people from all over the world, not a single person develops a real or close connection with anyone. For instance, if any of your friends from the social sites fall sick, let alone caring for them, some wouldn’t even be aware that they were unwell. These social networking connections are simply fake connections. Furthermore, this leads to isolation and depression as well. Many of them will not be interested in going out and meeting friends but would prefer staying in their rooms and chatting online. This ultimately leads to dejection and desolation. On the other hand, when it comes to societies, one may be connected to a person living miles away yet would not recognize their next -door neighbour. This is mainly because one is constantly in touch with their friends in social sites but would not have had the time to go out and meet your neighbour. As a result, societies have become more disjoined and fragmented. In addition to that, people of the same localities do not have any close relationships. They are all involved only in their social world and individual sites of their own. To conclude, these networking sites neither have any positive impact on individuals nor in societies. Although, these have been created to bring the world closer, somewhere it has brought distances in close relations.