A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

Opinions are divided as to whether the tourism industry gains more advantages than drawbacks. Despite the fact that there are some disadvantages of tourism, I believe that the benefits far outweigh its drawbacks. In this globalization, it is undeniable that travelling has been a significant problem for many nations for the two main factors. The first contributing factor is the sentimental value of inheritance whether in historical buildings or well-preserved forests can be degraded by the bad behaviours of tourists. For example, if some countries cannot maintain or regulate the strict rules for visitors to follow, some valuable heritages would be able to be damaged or break down liberately or unconsciously. Another factor is that too tourism have been negatively affecting local people since this industry was booming. Not only building a feeling of annoyance but also an increase in loud noise, air pollution and also traffic congestion in a big city,leading to an effect on the existence of both urban people and rural. However, there are some benefits of lots of places where mainly rely on tourism. Firstly, this is easy to raise money calculation and improve the economic system in the domestic economy, leading authorities to more provide amenities and facilities to civilians in return. Secondly, it is undoubtedly that some residents can gain lots of money for themselves by relying on tourists. For instance, in many provinces in Thailand, local dwellers have a career related to tourism such as selling handicrafts, painting and so on. this has been beneficial for their livelihood and communities in a positive way. Last but not least, the evidence was reported that the decreasing of unemployment can be seen in the peak reason of tourism, especially guides and traders who specialize in this field. In conclusion, I can understand why tourism is considered a major cause of problems, but it seems to me that the advantages far outweigh its disadvantages.