It is considered that individuals should make there own career choices in higher institutions while others think they should only be made to take courses that are useful . Discuss both sides of the essay and give your opinion

Most people are of the view that prospective undergraduate students should be given the liberty to choose courses they deem useful to their career growth and development while others feel that tertiary education candidates should be coerced to enroll in degree programs that are popular. This essay will explore these schools of thought while presenting the author's independent submission. For those who opine that people should have the freedom to study any program of their choice at the post secondary education level, they argue that with such level of freewill, aspiring degree students would only go for that which they are passionate about. Truly speaking, it is a psychological fact that when individuals are not encumbered by external pressure to practice what may seem unnatural to them, there is a tendency for persons to perform excellently both within the confines of the school and in the industry world where such skills are put to test. An example is the career trajectory of medical practitioners whose dreams have always been to work in the clinic as compared to those who were compelled by their parents to go into medicine, more often than not, the former tend to reach the pinnacle of the medical career while the latter transitions to other sector. Conversely, there are people who think that granting intending scholars the right to study their desired course would lead to a disaster of economic proportions which is likely to suffer a sector for the benefit of another. This group of thinkers assert that it would amount to being foolhardy for a nation lacking nurses, laboratory scientists and doctors to keep sponsoring liberal arts education with tax payers money while citizens who bleed these taxes die from lack of adequate medical personnel. In such case, it will not be necessarily harsh a policy to give a special treatment to those studying in such fields or going as far as mandating many to delve into these areas. In the light of the above, I am of the opinion that students should not restricted from participating in any course regardless of education level except in dire cases when it has been empirically proven that a country may face an existential threat owing to lack of human labour in certain areas of the economy, then, such policies of conscription of scholars could suffice to cover up such lacuna. However, I do not advise for such to continue as a permanent solution to the above. To recapitulate, one could clearly see that while freedom to study any course of choice brings out the best in professionals, the restriction of it could serve as the best solution to communities or countries in crisis situation.