Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The majority of people in the modern age is likely to go to supermarkets because it is developed and is suited for the customers. While there are those people who believe that the benefit of supermarkets will bring the local business to death, I entirely disagree because either department store and local market have their advantages. To begin with, the Thai population usually cooking at home, so they have to find someplace that have ingredients for them. Furthermore, there are many restaurants that are waiting local people to use their services. According to my experience, the local market is suited for people who want a raw ingredients like fish, meat, and beef, because I believe that the condition of the ingredients is superb and the price is not too over. Even though buyer needs to consider the condition of raw elements by themself, they are able to bring some good ingredient to their home. However, if there is anything that can harm the local business, it would be the varieties of goods. In a department store, the customer can choose any product on a shelf because the product is in almost the same condition. In Thailand, for example, every department store has everything that the local market sells or have a better grade of goods. Furthermore, the customer does not have any sweat to lose because in the store they always open an air-conditioning. To conclude, from the examples and reasons given, I strongly believe local businesses can survive in this modern age although it is tough if they want to besides supermarkets.