In the modern world, more and more emphasis is being placed on the acquisition of practical skills rather than knowledge from text books or other sources. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Nowadays, there is more attention to hands-on experience than theoretical knowledge from printed and other sources. Practical skills are requiring in some rapidly evolving industry when information from books is being outdated before its use in the real situation. At the same time, there are a lot of areas where the theoretical base is more crucial and is being a foundation for practical skills. On the one hand, the system of education is becoming obsolete very quickly thus people should develop new approaches of teaching which help to adapt study to meet today’s requirements. There is a typical situation when the youngster graduated from a university face a problem that they can not use their knowledge. In fact, when new experts occupy workplaces after graduation it is difficult to adapt their knowledge to the real conditions of work. For instance, such an area as IT needs to apply practical skills which you can master from practical experience, not from books. On the other hand, some professions are needed a holistic approach. It is obvious that fields related to science require fundamental theoretical expertise. The Scientists have to acquire a solid theoretical base beforehand they started to apply it for practical purposes. Moreover, if employees possess a strong theoretical base they understand the whole picture and can use their knowledge in the related fields. To sum up, theoretical knowledge and practical knowledge are like two sides of the coin. Theoretical expertise and practical skills are interconnected and complement each other.