Some people believe that schoolchildren should be made to wear a uniform. Others feel that children should be free to choose their own clothes. Discuss both sides of the argument and say whether you agree with pupils wearing uniforms. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In society, it is argued whether should students have a rule of wearing a uniform or not. Some people think that all children at school should have the same clothes to maintain the school spirit. Meanwhile, others argue that children should have freedom in their outfits. This essay will therefore suggest that students should have the same formal dress code at school. First, school uniforms can maintain the school spirit. As pupils are assigned to wear the uniform, they can feel that they are included in the academic community. In the meantime, it can also build up the school soul. As everyone puts on the same outfit, it can encourage a sense of unity. As a result, it can improve the overall atmosphere of the school positively. Furthermore, children can spend less time choosing clothes in the morning. They don’t have to spend time on deciding what to put on, instead of having their outfit, students can minify their time for getting ready in the morning. Moreover, the number of comparisons and bullying between students can be reduced. If children have their own outfits, they will easily be worried about their outlook. As a result, their clothes will become a talking point in their conversation. Comparisons on their clothing are inevitable, a group of children will therefore bully students with poor outfits. Consequently, the school environment will have a gloomy atmosphere, as many comparisons and insults are happening. On the other hand however, having the own outfits can provide freedom to children and encourage their independent thinking. If students are given the right to choose their outfits, it requires their critical thinking. Students may wear the traditional clothes or culture clothes, other students will therefore learn to respect to other cultures. As a result, students can have an opportunity to develop their independent thinking and critical thinking through having own choices of outfits. In conclusion, everyone would like to have as much freedom as they can, however, there is a need to have the rule on wearing uniform at school. It is worth doing it, as its advantages are always more than its disadvantages. It can build up the college soul, decrease the comparisons and bully issues between students.