With a growing world population, one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advancement of technology, the mortality rate has dropped resulting in an overall larger population as compared to decades before. The main problem that arises from this overpopulation is the ability or the inability to feed the growing inhabitants. Some people think that resorting to genetically modified food is the answer. However, I disagree with this notion, as it will cause more harm than it does good. For starters many people believe genetically modified foods are the way to go because they will always be readily available. Whatever the season, the crops will be able to grow and thereby there will never be the question of food shortages. For example, fruits like apples, oranges, and grapes all grow in a particular season. However, if these fruits are produced genetically the public can consume them all year round. On the other hand, the drawback of these genetically modified produce is the fact that, the public do not know what ingredients are available in these products. As they are genetically produced, only the scientists are aware of their creation methods. This makes the crowds sceptical of the product. Secondly, as these crops are produced genetically, there is a greater chance they will be immune to antibiotics, which will result in greater number of the individuals risking the chance of an infection. In conclusion, I feel that genetically modified crops are not the way to go, because although they will solve the obvious difficulty of feeding an overpopulated nation, they could in fact lead them to other health related problems.