Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. What is your opinion?

It is believed by some that advertisement of a product influence people to spend money on an unnecessary product, while others argue that advertising helps in keeping oneself updated on latest technologies which lead to a better quality of life. I believe that to some extent advertisement is good but too much of this can lead to an altered decision. To begin with, the promotion of a product or service brings a lot of benefits. Just buy seeing any hoarding and poster on our way to work can be really helpful in knowing the latest technology of appliances and whereabout of a hospital, other education institutions like colleges, schools etcetera. For instance, a fully automatic washing machine dries the clothes way faster than the semi-automatic, which leads to saving time and effort in doing laundry. Similarly, prestigious schools can be easily identified through promotion over social media or offline by word of mouth. On the other hand, there are quite a few disadvantages of promoting any item or any service. It has been observed that there have been cases when lucrative discount and sale on kitchen appliance has attracted buyers to spend more than what they were supposed to. For example, in a supermarket when a customer goes to buy a household thing or ration can be seen buying a crockery set which is on sale thus leads to more spending and less amount of savings at the end of the month. In addition to this, saloons, spas and gyms which give a great deal on membership have clients who are fit and does not even need any trainer. In the past, I consider that many patients has not been treated well in the absence of a special hospital. If their kins would have been known of super speciality health care centre in the vicinity of their home, many lives could have been saved. However, sometimes too much promotion of any item sometimes can be paid by influencers on Instagram, which attract youth to spend lavishly on luxurious items. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that although there are minor cons of the advertisement, the benefits of this certainly outweigh its disadvantages.