In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It can not be denied that the advent of the information era has given birth to a society where every individual shares relatively common education resources online. Such an idea leads to an assumption that in some cultures, children are told that they can be successful based on their efforts. However, as far as reality and individual well-being are concerned, I hold the view that it brings more harm than good. First and foremost, the fact that huge external difference exists in different situations including personal intelligence, family backgrounds, and education conditions indicates that children's efforts might play a less predominant role in achieving their ambitions. This is because many factors to personal success in the status quo can not be brought no matter how hard you work. For example, children brought up in high-class families tend to master a wide range of abilities such as interpersonal communication skills and hands-on abilities due to the abundant investment from their family, whereas barely can those in the poor family be exposed to those resources until in university. As a result, they have to accept the truth that being laid behind in the way of achieving their goals and their efforts seem to be in vain, resulting in a sense of failure for the rest of their lives. Admittedly, a voice raises that even though children cannot reach their ultimate destinations, in the end, the process of working hard still brings them benefits that otherwise might not have been realized. Ironically, this opinion ignores the aim of those youngsters who tried incredibly hard in their growth, and the depression when they finally realized they have been cheated and they can never achieve their goals. That's the reason for the cases that some great students choose to escape from the reality after they enter universities and may not get over this feeling in their lives. To conclude, I maintain that this public opinion leaves disadvantages to children when finally figure out that there are heaps of things that they cannot change by their own hard work in the way of success.