In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this cutting-edge era, a certain group of individuals choose to stay alone, unlike before. There might be several reasons for this behaviour; however, I believe that this development brings negative outcomes. This essay will articulate some of the drawbacks of this notion in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, there can be multiple reasons why people wanted to be alone but it will have some negative impacts on society. The main disadvantage is that it enhances the feeling of selfishness. Humans are social animals. We are helping each other to make the association, a better place to inhabit. However, if more people will start living separately then they tend to become selfish and this is not good for a happy and sustainable society. For example, the folks who did not live with their families, do not develop the family values such as, love, affection, responsibility and helping nature. Ultimately, nobody will help each other in the community. Therefore, I opine that people should spend some time in community services as that they do not feel disconnected by spending their lives alone. Furthermore, another demerit of staying in a nuclear family is that children will not develop certain values that they could have developed from their grandparents. For instance, an article published in "The Hindu" newspaper revealed that the children who live in nuclear families are less social as compared to the one's who stay in combined families. Thus, I think it is very important for children to spend a major portion of their childhood with their grandparents. It helps them to inculcate various valuable life lessons. To conclude, although staying alone may provide certain benefits, however its negatives are more to the association. Hence,I recommend that individuals should provide some volunteer services to the community to keep themselves connected to it and in addition, parents make sure that their pupils spend a good amount of time with their grandparents which help them to grow with positive developments towards the family, society and nation.