A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In these present times, the value of a person seems to be dependent on social achievement and luxurious possession while, old times values, such as honour, kindness and trustworthiness, seem not to be too necessary. I completely agree that in this modern generation, people values are attached to wealth and expensive materials. Firstly, a person worth in this modern dispensation is glued to their richness because of the importance of wealth to the economy. In ancient times, people who are trustworthy are being honoured to be chief, king and part of th Royal council. In addition, the ancient Egyptian knights were men of honour and valour and they are very respected in society. Thus, the wealth of those days are necessarily been accrued to a person who has no end to be honoured. Secondly, individuals worth in this twenty- first century is being assessed base on the person showing off for social media. Social media platforms have been used by the affluent to influence the mind of the public in the and society and folks see them as a demigod. More so, various chieftaincy titles are being bought by them and they are reverend as icons to many. For example, over the last decades, in Nigeria, the number of chiefs in the southeastern part of the country had increased because they are wealthy and can afford such prestigious positions. Hence, royalties are now for sale and those that can afford them are accorded respect. In conclusion, an individual worth in recent times, seems to be linked to social attainment and material things because the value of wealth and honour can be bought.