In many countries in the world people buy clothes and choose hair styles according to latest fashion. Why is this happening ? Is this a positive or a negative development?

It has become evident that a huge part of our world is now influenced by the fashion industry and that most adults but even teens choose how to style their hair and what clothes to buy based on the latest trends. The reason for what is going on is mostly the rise of new technologies, and I personally think that this can be seen as something negative. In the last few years, progress has been made that has allowed us to be connected with almost anyone through social media. However, being online has resulted in us being influenced, sometimes even subconsciously, by influencers and people who work in fashion. Because of how our mind works, we are tempted to use the same clothes or hairstyles of famous people, to the point that it quickly becomes a trend, and if you don't follow it you're certainly going to feel excluded. For instance, when I was in high school, and we all just started using Instagram, there was a popular way to dye your hair, and soon after almost everyone there had the same colour. I find this to be a rather negative development. I do think that using social media to do advertising is great, but, on the other side, it's difficult to see how we all are almost forced to be the exact same person, and if you don't follow the trends, you're definitely going to be seen as strange. Moreover, this is extremely hard for the youth and those who are still in school because not fitting into the image of a perfect teenager can surely result in being bullied. For example, when I went to middle school, all those who didn't have a specific pair of shoes were deemed as not "cool", and this was difficult for a child to endure. In conclusion, the increase in the use of technologies is for sure why we are so obsessed with dressing according to the latest fashion, even though I think that this is to be considered as a negative situation, rather than a positive one.